Indy 500 2018 live stream, race time, line up & more

There’s a lot going on leading up to the 102nd Indianapolis 500 on May 27. Check here for details on what’s happening at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and with the 500 Festival.

Indy 500 2018

Who has won Indy 500 the most times?

A.J. Foyt (1961, ’64, ’67, ’77), Al Unser (1970, ’71, ’78, ’87) and Rick Mears (1979, ’84, ’88, ’91) have won the race four times. Among active drivers, Helio Castroneves has won three times (2001, ’02, ’09).

Who won last year? 

Takuma Sato maneuvered around Helio Castroneves — who was trying for his fourth Indy 500 win — and rookie Ed Jones with 22 laps left, and he hung on to become the first Japanese winner of the race. It made up for an ill-fated attempt to pass for the lead late in the 2012 race that left him wrecked.

“After 2012, I really need(ed) to correct something I left over,” Sato said. “Today I was so happy that I made it and won in a good move.”

Carb Day is Friday, May 25

Gates open 8 a.m.

8 a.m.: IMS Midway oepn

8 a.m.: Historic race car exhibition

11 a.m.: Indy 500 practice

Noon: 500 Festival Memorial Service at the Indiana War Memorial

12:30 p.m.: Indy Lights Freedom 100

1:45 p.m.: Pit Stop Challenge

3:30 p.m.: Concert featuring Train and Blues Traveler

Legends Day is Saturday, May 26

Gates open 8 a.m.

8 a.m.: IMS Midway open

8 a.m.: Indy 500 memorabilia show

8 a.m.: Indy 500 legends autograph session wristband distribution, Pagoda Plaza

9 a.m.: Full-field autograph session, Pagoda Plaza

10:30 a.m.: Public drivers meeting

11:30 a.m.: Historic race car laps

11:45 a.m.: 500 Festival parade in Downtown Indianapolis featuring hip-hop violinist Miri Ben-Ari and dance group iLuminate. Purdue women’s basketball player Abby Abel and her friend Mitch Bonar are grand marshals.

Noon and 1:30 p.m.: Indy 500 legends autograph session, North Chalet

3:30 p.m.: Concert featuring Sam Hunt

6 p.m.: 500 Festival Snakepit Ball at Indiana Roof Ballroom

Race Day is Sunday, May 27

More: Keys to getting race tickets

Gates open 6 a.m.

7 a.m.-2:30 p.m.: Snake Pit concert

8 a.m.: Parade of bands

8:30 a.m.: Borg-Warner Trophy march to the bricks begins

9 a.m.: 500 Festival Princess parade laps

9 a.m.: Red carpet ceremony

10:05 a.m.: ‘On the Banks of the Wabash’

10:28 a.m.: Green flag delivery

10:35 a.m.: Indy 500 winners’ laps

10:55 a.m.: Historic race car laps

11:33 a.m.: Driver introductions

11:43 a.m.: Military march

11:46 a.m.: ‘America the Beautiful’

11:48 a.m.: Military address

11:53 a.m.: Presentation of colors, invocation

11:55 a.m.: ‘Taps’

11:57 a.m.: ‘God Bless America’

11:59 a.m.: National anthem, sung by Kelly Clarkson

12:01 p.m.: Flyover

12:11 p.m.: ‘Back Home Again in Indiana,’ sung by Jim Cornelison

12:12 p.m.: ‘Drivers, start your engines’

12:19 p.m.: 102nd Indianapolis 500

2018 Indy 500 lineup

Andretti Autosport: Marco Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Carlos Munoz, Alexander Rossi, Zach Veach, Stefan Wilson.

Team Penske: Helio Castroneves, Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagendaud, Will Power.

Dale Coyne Racing: Sebastien Bourdais, Conor Daly (with Thomas Burns Racing), Pietro Fittipaldi, Pippa Mann.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports: James Hinchcliffe, Jay Howard, Robert Wickens.

Ed Carpenter Racing: Ed Carpenter, Danica Patrick, Spencer Pigot.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing: Graham Rahal, Takuma Sato, Oriol Servia.

A.J. Foyt Racing: James Davison (with Byrd, Hollinger, Belardi), Tony Kanaan, Matheus Leist.

Chip Ganassi Racing: Scott Dixon, Ed Jones.

Carlin Motorsports: Max Chilton, Charlie Kimball.

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing: J.R. Hildebrand, Sage Karam.

Harding Racing: Gabby Chaves.

Juncos Racing: Kyle Kaiser.

Michael Shank Racing: Jack Harvey (with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports).